Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Rob Pardo leaves Blizzard

Rob Pardo leaves Blizzard

Thu 03 Jul 2014 6:25pm GMT / 2:25pm EDT / 11:25am PDT
PeopleJobs

Chief creative officer leaves World of Warcraft studio after 17 years

Rob Pardo is leaving Blizzard. The company's chief creative officer today announced his departure in a post on the official World of Warcraft forums.

"After 17 years at Blizzard, with long and careful contemplation, I have made a difficult and bittersweet but ultimately exciting decision to pursue the next chapter in my life and career," Pardo said.

Pardo did not explain his reasons for leaving, nor did he reveal what he would be doing next.

"As to what I will be doing next, I don't have an answer for you yet... but I will 'when it's ready,'" Pardo said. "My priorities are to enjoy the summer with my family, play plenty of games, and think about what's next. The game industry is such an exciting place right now with PC gaming thriving, the new consoles, mobile games, and virtual reality becoming an actual reality. It's like having an empty quest log and going into a new zone for the first time."

2 Comments

Andrzej Wroblewski Localization Generalist, Albion Localisations

103 78 0.8
Magnetic news. Literally. @Rob if you ever create a company of your own - mind that there are people like me who'd follow you blindly into oblivion. If you ever feel that localization quality makes a difference in product value, please think of me.

Posted:3 months ago

#1

Kevin Strange Developer Relations Account Manager, AMD

15 7 0.5

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Kevin Strange on 4th July 2014 12:03pm

Posted:3 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now