Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Ubisoft wins Uplay DRM patent suit

By Brendan Sinclair

Ubisoft wins Uplay DRM patent suit

Tue 01 Jul 2014 6:55pm GMT / 2:55pm EDT / 11:55am PDT

Publisher proclaims victory against patent troll in case where Valve, EA, and Zynga all settled

Ubisoft has joined the ranks of game companies crowing about successful defenses in patent litigation. The publisher today announced a summary judgment it received last month in a US patent suit brought against it by Digital Reg of Texas. The suit claimed that Ubisoft's Uplay platform violated a number of patents Digital Reg held on digital rights management techniques.

"Ubisoft is determined to aggressively fight patent cases that target the company and its innovations and technologies," a spokesperson said. "Ubisoft is committed to defending itself against patent assertion entities--referred to as patent 'trolls'--that assert invalid or inapplicable patents against the company or the industry."

Digital Reg filed its suit in 2011 with a number of companies named as defendants, including Zynga, Valve, and Electronic Arts. However, all three of those companies reached settlement agreements with the plaintiff over the course of 2013.

From Recommendations by Taboola


Eyal Teler Programmer

110 143 1.3
Popular Comment
Good one, Ubisoft. Much as I dislike the Uplay DRM, I dislike patent trolls more.

Posted:A year ago


David Sinur Associate Producer, Turbine, Inc. | WB Games

2 0 0.0
+1 Eyal.

Posted:A year ago


Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now