Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Steam sale draws in new record peak concurrent users

Steam sale draws in new record peak concurrent users

Mon 30 Jun 2014 6:54am GMT / 2:54am EDT / 11:54pm PDT
Online

DOTA 2 still most played as service hits 8m simultaneous gamers

Steam's annual summer sale has done the job again, drawing a record eight million concurrent users to the service last night as the offers drew to a close.

The service official statistics page clocks the maximum players online at 8,020,834, up by around a million people since the last spike During December, 2013. The number represents the biggest jump in record users for some time, showing just how quickly the service is still growing.

Despite the players being drawn in by heavy discounting, it was still Valve's free-to-play title DOTA 2 which was the most popular game, followed by the publisher's online shooter Counter Strike: GO. DOTA, however, had four times as many players as its nearest rival.

Full details of the weekend's activities are available at the official Steam stats page.

2 Comments

Steve Wetz
Reviewer/Assistant Editor

193 492 2.5
That team competition... even knowing it was a marketing ploy, I still got into it (GO PINK).

Steam is rewriting the book on sales, and the title of that book is "Gamification FTW!"

Posted:A month ago

#1

Nicholas Pantazis
Senior Editor

1,017 1,463 1.4
@ Steve Well-said my Pink Team brother. Valve understands it's not just about the prices, but the culture you create around these massive sales events that draws people into the service and keeps them there.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Nicholas Pantazis on 1st July 2014 1:05am

Posted:A month ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now