Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Dota 2 tournament prize pool reaches $10 million

Dota 2 tournament prize pool reaches $10 million

Mon 30 Jun 2014 8:59am GMT / 4:59am EDT / 1:59am PDT
Events

Overall winner of The International 2014 will receive a minimum $5 million

The prize pool for Valve's official Dota 2 tournament, The International 2014, has reached $10 million, rising from $6 million in just over five weeks.

That amount is driven by the community from the sales of The Compendium, a virtual booklet that gives its owners access to a number of ways to interact with the tournament. Valve got the pool started with $1.6 million, and the community response has been huge. It now stands at $10.1 million, with every one of Valve's 22 stretch goals unlocked.

To put it in perspective, last year's tournament had a $2.9 million prize fund. Every copy of The Compendium sold adds another $2.50, which equates to several million of units.

From here, the prize pool could still go higher, but as it stands the winner of The International will receive more than $5 million, with the top three prizes all in excess of $1 million.

The International will be held at the Key Arena in Seattle, Washington from July 18 to 21, 2014.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now