Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

CVG gets a reprieve

CVG gets a reprieve

Mon 23 Jun 2014 6:42pm GMT / 2:42pm EDT / 11:42am PDT
MediaJobs

Long-running consumer gaming outlet reportedly won't be closed, but will still suffer staff cuts

Reports of CVG's demise may have been premature. MCV is reporting the long-running site will run at least a little longer, albeit with a reduced staff.

After CVG's closure was originally reported to be part of Future Publishing's restructuring plan, reaction to the news made the company reconsider. According to MCV, Future saw both an outpouring of support for the publication, as well as offers from other media groups to purchase the brand, which began life as the magazine Computer & Video Games more than 30 years ago.

While CVG may have been saved from closure, it won't be entirely exempt from Future's restructuring pains. In the near term, the site's staff will be reportedly reduced from five in the UK with additional assistance in the US and Australia to just three writers. The company will also revisit the decision in December.

1 Comment

John Karageorgiou consultant

29 34 1.2
Good to hear that the CVG closure is being reassessed and that Future Publishing are listening to CVG's fan base.

Posted:3 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now