Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Bandai Namco shutting Ridge Racer Driftopia

Bandai Namco shutting Ridge Racer Driftopia

Fri 20 Jun 2014 8:20am GMT / 4:20am EDT / 1:20am PDT
Publishing

Free-to-play racing game servers to close in August

Bandai Namco Games Europe that free-to-play racing title Ridge Racer Driftopia will be terminated on August 15, one year after the game was launched in open beta on Windows and PlayStation 3.

"Ridge Racer Driftopia's open beta will be finished in 60 days," said the company in a short statement.

"The leading developer and publisher wanted to take this opportunity to thank all its players for their permanent support and dedication. All the feedbacks will be taken into account for the upcoming projects. By August 15, servers will be turned off and the game will no longer be in Early Access."

The game was a free-to-play version of Ridge Racer Unbounded, both developed by Bugbear Entertainment. The game was funded by micro-transactions for vehicle packs, booster packs, repair kits and XP boosts.

"At Namco Bandai Games we are committed to embracing new business models alongside the still vital traditional retail sector," Namco Bandai Europe exec Olivier Comte said when the game was first announced.

"Free-to-play is playing an increasingly important role, so it's very exciting to be bringing one of our most successful franchises to the free-to-play space for everyone to enjoy."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now