Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Attendees up, exhibitors down at E3 2014

Attendees up, exhibitors down at E3 2014

Fri 13 Jun 2014 8:25am GMT / 4:25am EDT / 1:25am PDT
Events

"The video game industry's explosive growth and technological innovation were front and centre"

E3 has just ended, and the ESA has already revealed that attendees number were up on last year, but exhibitor numbers actually fell.

The show saw 48,900 visitors this year, compared to 48,200 in 2013. There were 200 exhibitors this year, compared to 230 exhibitors last year.

"The video game industry's explosive growth and technological innovation were front and centre at E3 2014," said owner and manager of E3 Michael D. Gallagher.

"Video games are the most innovative and engaging force driving our culture and entertainment experiences the world over. Congratulations to our incredibly creative members, partners, exhibitors, and the hundreds of millions of gamers who engaged with the show online and through social media."

According to the ESA statement visitors to the event booked 28,000 total hotel room nights across LA and generated almost $40 million in revenue.

The ESA also set the date for E3 2015, so mark your diaries for June 16-18.

1 Comment

Richard Browne
EVP Gaming and Interactive

90 87 1.0
Believe the lower exhibitors, think the higher visitors number is someone cooking the books. E3 was far quieter this year than I have ever seen it, and I've been to every single one. In part this is probably due to the new checking ID situation on the entrances, many Companies in the past used single passes for multiple entry over the three days ; this time it was in and out. I also know a number of companies that registered lots of people but sent fairly few because there wasn't the need.

Posted:A month ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now