Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

PlayStation 4 adds PayPal support

PlayStation 4 adds PayPal support

Mon 09 Jun 2014 8:08am GMT / 4:08am EDT / 1:08am PDT
Retail

Users can now top up wallets with digital payment service

PlayStation 4 owners in US, Canada, Mexico, Chile, and Argentina now have the option of making their PlayStation Store purchases through digital payments site PayPal.

The service will offer an alternative to credit cards for users, and with suggestions that PayPal plans to add support for virtual currencies like Bitcoin very soon, more freedom when it comes to payment choices.

PayPal support was added to PlayStation 3 in November 2013.

PayPal Inc is owned by eBay and has "148 million active accounts in 26 currencies and across 193 markets, processing more than 9 million payments daily."

3 Comments

Steve Wetz
Reviewer/Assistant Editor

163 367 2.3
A no-brainer solution for those few who are still security conscious enough to not want to put their credit card numbers into a service directly. I like it when businesses make decisions that make business sense!

Posted:A month ago

#1

Jens Mogensen
Game Reviewer

7 3 0.4
And very handy for those of us who want to buy from US PSN even though we afe in Europe. Until now we needed to buy PSN gift cards on Amazon to top up our US accounts.

Posted:A month ago

#2

Greg Wilcox
Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,130 1,038 0.5
You'd think they'd have adopted it from launch day, as it works fine on the PS3 and Vita. The ONLY complaint I have is you can't put in custom payments under five bucks, which is me being cheap, but if I see a game for two bucks, I don't think I need to add three more into my wallet and have it sit there until I see something else i want to buy. Yeah, I'm THAT frugal!

Posted:A month ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now