Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Quiz RPG hits 26 million downloads in Japan

Quiz RPG hits 26 million downloads in Japan

Wed 04 Jun 2014 8:14am GMT / 4:14am EDT / 1:14am PDT
PublishingDevelopment

Colopl's title poised to overtake Puzzle & Dragons as Japan's most popular game

Colopl's Quiz RPG is poised to overtake GungHo's Puzzle & Dragons as Japan's most popular mobile game.

According to the latest figures released by the Tokyo-based developer Colopl - translated by the prominent analyst Dr. Serkan Toto - Quiz RPG: World of Mystic Wiz has now reached 26 million downloads in Japan.

That puts it 2 million behind Puzzle & Dragons' 28 million downloads, but the momentum is very much with Colopl, which released Quiz RPG more than a year after Puzzle & Dragons. In January this year, Quiz RPG had only been downloaded 17 million times, and it added its last million users in less than half the time it took Puzzle & Dragons.

Colopl's stock price has slipped since January, but its market cap is still comfortably north of $3 billion.

However, GungHo's title remains the highest grossing game in Japan, with Mixi's Monster Strike its closest rival.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now