Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Microsoft matches Sony on Xbox One Japanese pricing

Microsoft matches Sony on Xbox One Japanese pricing

Tue 27 May 2014 8:53am GMT / 4:53am EDT / 1:53am PDT
RetailHardware

Console priced at 39,980, Kinect not mandatory at launch

Microsoft has revealed its pricing strategy for the Xbox One in Japan, and it will be offering a Kinect-free version from day one.

The console-only Xbox One will cost 39,980 ($393), while a bundle with Kinect will retail for 49,980 ($491). The price of the console is in line with Sony's pricing of the PlayStation 4.

At present, no specific date or price has been attached to the KInect as a separate purchase, though Microsoft Japan has indicated that it plans to release the peripheral this year.

There will be 41 games available for the Xbox One when it launches in Japan on September 4 this year. That includes established titles like Titanfall, Forza 5 and Dead Rising 3, and incoming products like Insomniac's Sunset Overdrive, Capy Games' Below and Swery 65's D4.

In April, Microsoft confirmed that 48 developers had committed to developing games for the platform in Japan.

1 Comment

Paul Jace Merchandiser

942 1,428 1.5
For Microsoft Japan this announcement made it a very big day for the company. But for Japanese gamers it was just another Tuesday. It's nice that they are doing this but it will have very little impact since Japan still refuses to support non-Japanese consoles. If Microsoft really wants to try and make an impact they need to severely undercut the PS4's price point. Either that or buy Nintendo to own their exclusive library of titles.

Posted:5 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now