Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Hidetaka Miyazaki named From Software president

Hidetaka Miyazaki named From Software president

Wed 21 May 2014 10:13am GMT / 6:13am EDT / 3:13am PDT
DevelopmentJobs

Dark Souls director takes role following Kadokawa acquisition

Hidetaka Miyazaki is the new president of From Software, the Japanese company behind Armored Core, Demon's Souls and Dark Souls.

Gamasutra translated a Japanese announcement from the company that also revealed Demon's Souls producer Masanori Takeuchi had been promoted to a senior managing director role.

Miyazaki, who joined the company ten years ago, created and directed Demon's Souls and Dark Souls but, to the surprise of fans, not Dark Souls II. In January a Namco Bandai producer Takeshi Miyazoe explained this was a "a company decision."

"In order to maintain the expectations and satisfaction and the rewards that players experience, this was the right time to bring in the new characteristics and taste[s of the directors] for this series to continue on evolving."

Last month From Software was acquired by the Japanese publisher Kadokawa Shoten in a deal set to complete today.

1 Comment

Justin Shuard J - E translator

47 180 3.8
Great news for him - he deserves all the success he gets. On a slightly more greedier note I just hope he continues to be heavily involved in game design. :) Demon's Souls and Dark Souls rank among my favorite all-time games, and while they may not have the mass market appeal of a COD or a GTA, there's a definite sense of uniqueness and innovation to them that the gaming industry sorely needs more of.

Posted:6 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now