Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Dota 2 tournament prize pool hits $6 million

Dota 2 tournament prize pool hits $6 million

Wed 21 May 2014 7:13am GMT / 3:13am EDT / 12:13am PDT
MediaPublishingMarketing

Community initiative pushes The International's prize to unprecedented level

The prize pool for Valve's official Dota 2 tournament, The International, has reached more than $6 million.

The ballooning value of the championship in dollars is broadly representative of the meteoric rise of eSports. By way of example, last year's tournament was backed by a prize pool of $2.9 million, with the overall winner taking half of the total.

Valve started The International's 2014 prize pool with $1.6 million, and it now stands at just over $6.1 million. All of the growth since then is down to an ebook called "The Compendium", which Valve is selling to the Dota 2 community for $10 a time.

The Compendium is a conduit for a range of ways that viewers can interact with the live tournament, many of which earn points that can be exchanged for in-game items. Every purchase of The Compendium adds another $2.50 to The International prize pool.

And Valve has showed its confidence in pushing the prize even higher by adding stretch goals up to the value of $10 million.

The International will be held at the Key Arena in Seattle, Washington from July 18 to 21, 2014.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now