Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

140 jobs lost in ProSieben's Aeria Games takeover

140 jobs lost in ProSieben's Aeria Games takeover

Thu 08 May 2014 9:26am GMT / 5:26am EDT / 2:26am PDT
PublishingDevelopment

Redundancies abound as companies form a new entity: SevenGames

Around 140 people have been made redundant following the completion of ProSiebenSat.1 Media's takeover of Aeria Games Europe.

The Aeria acquisition was announced in February this year, but the fallout was delayed while it was reviewed by the German and Austrian Monopolies and Mergers Commissions. That process finished this week, and sources familiar with the matter have informed GamesIndustry International that 140 jobs were lost as the two entities joined to form a new company, SevenGames.

Despite Aeria Games being the subject of the takeover, the redundancies have actually hit ProSiebenSat.1 Games the hardest. According to our source, fewer than 20 people made the transition from ProSiebenSat.1 Games in Munich, Germany to Aeria Games Europe in Berlin - the new headquarters for SevenGames.

At the time of writing, ProSiebenSat.1 had not returned calls placed by GamesIndustry International's German correspondent.

The acquisition of Aeria Games Europe from its parent company, Aeria Games & Entertainment, has raised the profile of ProSiebenSat.1 considerably. Following the deal, its community has grown from 27 million to 77 million people, and it has doubled its IP stable to 39 properties. The company claims it is now the third largest publisher of mobile and online games in Europe.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now