Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

China's mobile market to surpass US in size - Report

China's mobile market to surpass US in size - Report

Wed 07 May 2014 5:53pm GMT / 1:53pm EDT / 10:53am PDT
Emerging MarketsMobile

Superdata says Chinese mobile revenues will top $3 billion this year; US shows indications of saturation

The Chinese mobile gaming market is nearly as big as its US counterpart and growing at a much faster rate, according to a report released this week by research firm Superdata. The company believes that mobile gaming in China will bring in $3 billion in revenues this year, while the US market will total $3.2 billion.

While mobile spending is still growing in the US, Superdata said the market is "showing signs of saturation." It predicts US revenues will grow only about 7 percent in 2014, while China is expected to more than double its mobile revenue total from 2013.

"Developers in both markets will need to focus on researching effective monetization mechanics and their most lucrative audiences in order to conquer an increasingly competitive and ubiquitously free-to-play market," the firm said.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now