Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Boomlagoon soaks up $3.6 million in funding

Boomlagoon soaks up $3.6 million in funding

Tue 06 May 2014 11:37am GMT / 7:37am EDT / 4:37am PDT
MobileBusinessFinancial

Helsinki-based Noble Nutlings developer garners support from Northzone to pursue character-driven mobile games

The developers at Boomlagoon have landed $3.6 million in funding to make the next mobile character-driven hit like Angry Birds, possibly because they had a role in making the first one. The studio today announced its Series A investment round, led by Northzone with additional funding from Inventure, 360 Capital Partners, London Venture Partners, and Jari Ovaskainen.

Based in Helsinki, Finland, Boomlagoon was founded in 2012 by a trio of ex-Rovio developers who worked on Angry Birds. It has since grown to eight people, and released its first game, Noble Nutlings, early last year.

"We have been very impressed by the Boomlagoon team, and believe they have a unique understanding of how to drive casual mobile games to broad markets," Northzone general partner Torleif Ahlsand said in a statement. "All games from Boomlagoon are based on memorable characters and a clear strategy on monetization. I really look forward to joining the board to work with them to make their ambitious goals a reality."

Boomlagoon plans to use the funding to bring on more employees and further pursue the creation of character-driven titles. The studio's follow-up to Noble Nutlings is expected to be announced later this month.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now