Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Square Enix shuts down India studio - Report

Square Enix shuts down India studio - Report

Mon 14 Apr 2014 8:56pm GMT / 4:56pm EDT / 1:56pm PDT
DevelopmentJobs

Plug pulled on mobile game development operation a year after group's formation

Square Enix has shut down its Indian mobile game development operation, according to a report on MCV India. The outfit's six employees were laid off in the process, one of whom confirmed the closure for the site.

Square Enix first established its Indian offices alongside a new Latin America outfit a little over a year ago. The publisher's team in India had been working with external developers on projects, but none received a greenlight, and the operation was shuttered without having released a title.

The report also mentions that Square Enix Latin America has not gone unscathed, with multiple projects recently cancelled, even after making it past the initial greenlight process.

[UPDATE]: A Square Enix representative addressed the report, saying, "We have made a long-term commitment to serving the Indian market, and it means there always will be a possibility that we make necessary changes in the strategy from time to time in order to take the best strategic option. It is true that we are considerably reducing the size of our Mumbai office, however, it does not mean we will withdraw from India."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now