Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Sega cuts staff at London office

Sega cuts staff at London office

Wed 09 Apr 2014 2:05pm GMT / 10:05am EDT / 7:05am PDT
Jobs

Restructuring to consolidate aspects of Sonic, mobile business in US results in "limited number of redundancies"

Sega has instituted a round of layoffs at its London office, the company confirmed to Polygon.

"Sega is in the process of consolidating certain functions of the Sonic and Mobile departments within Sega of America, where the management and production for those areas of the business reside," a Sega representative said. "As part of that strategy a limited number of redundancies have taken effect in our European office, based in London."

The cuts are the latest in a series of changes at the developer since a restructuring plan announced in mid-2012. Since then, Sega has closed five European offices, shut down Sega Studios Australia, and last October laid off an unspecified number of employees at Sega of America. At the time, a company representative said the move was necessary "to compete and succeed in an ever-changing environment."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now