Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Redesigned PS Vita hits US May 6

Redesigned PS Vita hits US May 6

Tue 08 Apr 2014 8:10pm GMT / 4:10pm EDT / 1:10pm PDT
Hardware

Hardware will come bundled with Borderlands 2, 8GB memory card for $200

After debuting in Japan in October and launching in the UK earlier this year, the redesigned PlayStation Vita will finally arrive in North America on May 6, Sony announced today. The $200 bundle will come packaged with a code to download Borderlands 2 and an 8GB memory card.

The new hardware is slimmer and lighter than the original Vita handheld, but not without some trade-offs. The biggest alteration has been to the system's screen, with the original Vita's OLED display swapped out for a new LCD screen. However, the new screen has also allowed Sony to increase the handheld's battery life.

Early adopters of the redesign will also be getting their hands on Borderlands 2 before existing Vita owners have a chance to play the game. The shooter port won't be making its stand-alone debut at retailers or on the digital PlayStation Store until May 13.

2 Comments

Greg Wilcox Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,193 1,170 0.5
Hmmmm... a day before my birthday. I already have a Vita here, but this new model plus a B2 code AND a memory card are kind of hard to ignore... Hmmmm. We'll see...

Posted:6 months ago

#1

Rick Lopez Illustrator, Graphic Designer

1,269 942 0.7
Price is still a bit steap for me... but the packed in game and memory card sweaten the deal.

Posted:6 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now