Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Masato Masuda dies at 48

Masato Masuda dies at 48

Fri 04 Apr 2014 9:19am GMT / 5:19am EDT / 2:19am PDT
PeopleDevelopment

Goichi Suda pays tribute to creator of Fire Pro Wrestling

Masato Masuda, best known as the creator of Fire Pro Wrestling, has passed away at the age of 48.

The news broke via a tribute from Grasshopper Manufacture's Goichi Suda, who worked on Super Fire Pro Wrestling 3: Final Bout and Super Fire Pro Wrestling Special at the start of his career. In a tweet, Goichi Suda said that his mentor was, "still young."

"I genuinely pray for his happiness in the next world. He was one of the greatest creators of video games and he was my direct teacher. Thank you for giving us our favorite Fire Pro Wrestling. You are the god of it."

While working at TRY studio, Masuda created and designed Pro Wrestling on the NES virtually single-handed. The game was released in 1986, when Masuda had barely turned 20. He would remain in control of the series for many years after that early success - when the franchise became known as Fire Pro Wrestling - taking it to numerous new platforms as the industry evolved and expanded.

3 Comments

Germán Vázquez Executive Producer, Neggi Studio

36 17 0.5
I loved that game, played like crazy with my brother when we were kids, RIP.

Posted:7 months ago

#1

Adam Campbell Associate Producer, Miniclip Ltd

1,199 1,012 0.8
Still young really but achieved so much. Rest in peace.

Posted:7 months ago

#2

Private VIdeo Games

103 14 0.1
RIP !

Posted:7 months ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now