Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

3DS XL Japanese number one again

3DS XL Japanese number one again

Wed 02 Apr 2014 2:15pm GMT / 10:15am EDT / 7:15am PDT
Retail

And Hatsune Miku Project Diva F 2nd rules the software sales

Nintendo was back on top of the Japanese hardware chart this week thanks to a massive boost in sales for the 3DS XL, thanks in part to a new Monster Hunter 4 3DS XL bundle.

  1. 3DS XL - 52,124 (Last week - 28,291)
  2. PlayStation Vita - 39,752 (35,374)
  3. PlayStation 4 - 23,327 (30,201)
  4. PlayStation 3 - 17,154 (15,455)
  5. Wii U - 13,026 (9,982)
  6. 3DS - 12,508 (11,985)
  7. PSP - 4,206 (3,563)
  8. PlayStation Vita TV - 2,115 (1,754)
  9. Xbox 360 - 304 (288)

On the software chart Hatsune Miku Project Diva F 2nd made it to number and number three on two different PlayStation formats.

  1. [PSV] Hatsune Miku Project Diva F 2nd - 98,628 (New entry)
  2. [3DS] Mario Party: Island Tour - 78,098 (Lifetime sales - 210,767)
  3. [PS3] Hatsune Miku Project Diva F 2nd - 59,965 (New entry)
  4. [3DS] Yokai Watch - 48,345 (662,724)
  5. [PS3] Samurai Warriors 4 - 46,490 (166,942)

Charts collated by Media Create and published by Gematsu

2 Comments

Christian Keichel
Journalist

619 843 1.4
Popular Comment
It should be noted, that the japanese government raised the sales tax for the first time in 17 years, on April 1st 2014 the sales tax was raised from 5% to 8%, so the increased sales are probably due to customers buying devices before the price for them goes up.

Posted:4 months ago

#1

Yiannis Koumoutzelis
Founder & Creative Director

359 202 0.6
Did 3DS ever really stop being number one?
It is very rare that their streak is broken in Japan. 3DS/XL are pretty much a resident in #1 place for some years now. :)

Posted:4 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now