Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Crytek's Warface amasses 25m users

Crytek's Warface amasses 25m users

Tue 01 Apr 2014 8:55am GMT / 4:55am EDT / 1:55am PDT
Publishing

Chinese open beta planned for later this year

Crytek's free-to-play shooter Warface has attracted 25 million registered users since it first launched in April 2012.

"It is a fantastic achievement for our franchise and for our teams, and we'd like to thank Warface players everywhere for their support," said CEO Cevat Yerli.

"Warface is part of our games-as-service model, which means the game thrives off and revolves around our community. We look forward to delivering more of the great gameplay experiences that they have come to expect, and can promise the growing ranks of Warface fans that the franchise still has lots of surprises in store."

The game was released in Russia first and reached North America, Europe, Turkey, Korea and Brazil in 2013. An open beta is planned for China this year where the game will be operated by Tencent.

In October 2013 the game attracted attention for the sexually provocative attire of its female characters, a design decision that the lead producer put down to "cultural relativism."

1 Comment

Paul Jace
Merchandiser

894 1,321 1.5
I played the closed beta on XBL and I liked it but they definitely need to tighten up those controls a bit. But I'm sure they will work out most of the kinks before releasing the final version.

Posted:4 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now