Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Electronic Sports League sets sights on America

Electronic Sports League sets sights on America

Mon 31 Mar 2014 1:36pm GMT / 9:36am EDT / 6:36am PDT
EventsMedia

Acquisition of ESS Agency and new LA studio will pave the way for US expansion

The Electronic Sports League has acquired the ESS Agency to strengthen its chances of breaking the North American market.

Founded in 2006, the ESS Agency offers a variety of services around esports events and broadcasting, including technology marketing and production. It has worked with Twitch, Riot Games and Activision-Blizzard among many others, and the ESL recognised an opportunity to gain traction in the U.S. - where Major League Gaming (MLG) has gained a considerable following in recent years.

In conjunction with the acquisition, the ESL will open a new production studio and new offices in Los Angeles.

"We have known the ESS team for more than ten years, and are excited to have them as an integral part of our global organization," said Ralf Reichert and Heinrich Zetlmayer, managing directors of the ESL, in a joint statement issued to the press.

"Los Angeles is the ideal place to produce AAA content, and a natural choice for our new studio location. Having a permanent production team and brand new facilities at the heart of America's entertainment industry is an incredible milestone on our journey to deliver what ESL is best at - an amazing gaming experience."

ESS Agency will now be responsible for launching ESL America, hosting live events at its 7000 square foot studio, which can accommodate a live audience in the hundreds

The ESL is based in Cologne, Germany.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now