Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony appoints new CFO

Sony appoints new CFO

Fri 28 Mar 2014 8:31am GMT / 4:31am EDT / 1:31am PDT
Jobs

Kenichiro Yoshida will replace outgoing Masaru Kato on April 1

Sony has appointed Kenichiro Yoshida as its new chief financial officer, replacing current CFO Masaru Kato.

The swap will take place on April 1, at which time Kato will become vice chairman for the company, with a focus on overseas operations - specifically those in China.

Yoshida was named Sony's chief strategy officer in November last year, but he also took the role of deputy CFO the following month. According to Bloomberg, Sony CEO Kaz Hirai was considering succession plans for Kato at that time.

The new appointment comes at a difficult time for Sony, despite the success of the PlayStation 4. WIth many of its key business units struggling, Kaz Hirai is attempting to cut costs through redundancies, closures and the sale of real estate.

At the end of January this year, Sony's credit rating was cut to "junk" by Moody's Investors Service.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now