Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Japanese smartphone market doubled in 2013

Japanese smartphone market doubled in 2013

Fri 28 Mar 2014 11:47am GMT / 7:47am EDT / 4:47am PDT
RetailPublishing

Smartphone games now account for 50 per cent of entire games market

The market for smartphone games in Japan almost doubled in size last year, reaching $5.4 billion in total sales.

According to data released by the Japanese internet firm CyberAgent, the domestic smartphone game market generated 546.8 billion ($5.4 billion) in 2013, an increase of 178 per cent over the 307.2 billion earned in the prior year.

And the smartphone market now represents a more significant percentage of the software market as a whole. In 2013, the entire Japanese software market was worth 1103.6 billion ($10.8 billion), so smartphone games accounted for around 50 per cent of the whole. In 2012, it was only 30 per cent.

1

However, this rate of growth is expect to slow over the next few years, rising to around $6.5 billion in value in 2014, $7.4 billion in 2015, and $8.2 billion in 2016.

2

Thanks Dr Serkan Toto.

3 Comments

Bruce Everiss Marketing Consultant

1,692 594 0.4
Inevitable.
Everywhere mobile will become the main game industry.

Posted:8 months ago

#1
Popular Comment
Welcome back!

Posted:8 months ago

#2

Aaron Johnson

24 40 1.7
@ Matthew

5.4 billion vs 3.1 - shouldn't that read a 78% increase? Nevertheless, some impressive growth!

Posted:8 months ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now