Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Lanning: "I don't think we could do an Oddworld title for $2m"

Lanning: "I don't think we could do an Oddworld title for $2m"

Tue 18 Mar 2014 10:19am GMT / 6:19am EDT / 3:19am PDT
Development

Oddworld creator confident New 'n' Tasty! will sell 500K

Lorne Lanning, co-founder of Oddworld Inhabitants, has explained that the upcoming Oddworld: New 'n' Tasty! needs to sell half a million copies to fund an original Oddworld title.

"If I'm doing a new Oddworld game, I'm not going to do it for $2 million. I might do it for five or six," Lanning told Eurogamer.

"If this had a publisher, the price would be higher and they'd be calling in triple A"

"People keep asking me, 'Why don't you Kickstart Oddworld? You could get at least $1 or $2 million.' And I'm like 'What would I do with a couple million on Kickstarter? On a new Oddworld title?' Not much. I could redo Exoddus for a couple million. I could do that. But a new title, which means new characters doing new things and controls that are great - that's where the real time and expenses come from."

"If you already have the game and you're just doing a conversion, it's easier. From scratch, I don't think we could do an Oddworld title for a couple million dollars."

During the interview he also addressed the price of New 'n' Tasty, which will be set at around $30. Lanning argued the game would offer more value and quality than many $60 titles.

"If this had a publisher, the price would be higher and they'd be calling [it] triple A."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now