Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Twitch reveals first compatible iOS title

Twitch reveals first compatible iOS title

Mon 17 Mar 2014 1:00pm GMT / 9:00am EDT / 6:00am PDT
Mobile

Asphalt 8: Airborne has video platform's capabilities built in

Arcade title Asphalt 8: Airborne will be the first iOS title to feature Twitch's video broadcast capabilities, and creators Gameloft plan to celebrate with a 24-hour live stream event starting today.

"Live broadcasting represents one of the most important shifts in the way people play games," said Matthew DiPietro, VP of marketing.

"Twitch has quickly found a home on consoles, so by partnering with Gameloft to launch the first streaming-enabled mobile game brings us one step closer to being everywhere that gamers are. Also, being integrated into Asphalt 8: Airborne, one of the highest rated mobile games, should ensure it resonates with our community."

Asphalt 8: Airborne was published on August 22, 2013 on iOS and has around 48 million installs. The new video streaming capabilities will include voice and image broadcasting, chat, sharing or archiving streams and watching other Asphalt 8: Airborne gamers.

"This first-ever mobile game integration with Twitch opens the door for gamers to broadcast and share game play experiences like never before," added Gameloft's Baudouin Corman.

"As one of our most popular games, Asphalt 8: Airborne made perfect sense to integrate the Twitch mobile SDK, and we can't wait to see the excitement it brings to our users."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now