Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Giant Interactive goes private after $3 billion buyout

Giant Interactive goes private after $3 billion buyout

Mon 17 Mar 2014 9:04am GMT / 5:04am EDT / 2:04am PDT
Publishing

Chairman leads audacious bid for remaining stock in ZT Online developer

Giant Interactive Group

Giant Interactive Group Inc. (Giant Interactive), formerly Giant Network Technology Limited, is an online...

ga-me.com/

The Chinese online game operator Giant Interactive has been bought out by its chairman and two private equity companies for $3 billion.

The deal, which was led by chairman Shi Yuzhu and involved Hony Capital and Baring Private Equity Asia, means that Giant Interactive is once again a private company, seven years on from its initial listing in New York in 2007.

The $3 billion offer is equivalent to around $12 per share, 5 per cent more than Giant's $11.40 stock value at the close of trading on Friday. The group behind the deal already owned 47 per cent of Giant's stock. It secured debt financing of $850 million to cover part of the remaining $1.6 billion.

Giant Interactive is the best known as the developer of the popular MMO ZT Online.

Thanks to The New York Times.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now