Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams sells a million

Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams sells a million

Mon 17 Mar 2014 8:22am GMT / 4:22am EDT / 1:22am PDT
Retail

"It wouldn't have been possible in the classic way through publisher financing"

Kickstarter-funded Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams has now sold over a million copies, according to the latest figures from Black Forest Games.

"One million copies sold absolutely qualifies Giana Sisters as an indie hit - and yet it took a Kickstarter campaign to be able to develop the game," said Black Forest Games MD Andreas Speer.

"It wouldn't have been possible in the classic way through publisher financing. It is only thanks to the dedication of our 6,000 backers that one million gamers (and counting) got the chance to play."

The game was first released on XBLA on March 20, 2013 after successfully raising $186,158 through Kickstarter in August 2012. It has since been released on PS3, Wii U and Windows. Three weeks ago it was featured in the Humble Indie Bundle 11 which made more than $2 million.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now