Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

ZTE and The9 partner on new console for China

By Matthew Handrahan

ZTE and The9 partner on new console for China

Wed 12 Mar 2014 9:37am GMT / 5:37am EDT / 2:37am PDT
Hardware

The Tegra 4-powered Fun Box will launch this month

Chinese telecomms company ZTE Corp. has embarked on a joint venture with developer The9 Ltd. to build a new console for the Chinese market.

Responding to questions sent by Bloomberg, a representative from ZTE Corp. confirmed that the Fun Box will be released this month. The hardware will be powered by an Nvidia Tegra 4 chip, with 2GB of RAM and Bluetooth-enabled game controllers. At present, there are no plans to launch the device outside of China.

The existence of the Fun Box is significant of a major new opportunity for the global games industry. After months of speculation, China finally lifted its 14-year ban on the sale of foreign consoles in the country, providing a new route into one of the fastest growing - and already one of the most lucrative - markets in the world.

Microsoft was forging ahead in September last year, establishing a partnership with the Chinese media company BesTV New Media Co. Ltd. to create a new console and streaming service for the region. The total investment in the venture - of which Microsoft owns a 49 per cent stake - is worth $237 million.

However, foreign companies acting alone will have to conform to certain standards; specifically, the need to manufacture any devices in the Shanghai free-trade zone, and meet the government's guidelines on any games released in the country.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now