Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Next Games lands $6 million in seed funding

Next Games lands $6 million in seed funding

Tue 11 Mar 2014 5:16pm GMT / 1:16pm EDT / 10:16am PDT
BusinessFinancial

Finnish developer of new Walking Dead mobile game attracts support of IDG Ventures, AMC Networks, more

Finnish developer Next Games today announced a $6 million round of funding from a variety of institutional and private investors. The studio was founded by veterans of Supercell, Rovio, and Disney, and is currently at work on two projects, including a new mobile game based on The Walking Dead TV show and being created in collaboration with AMC Networks.

In securing the funding, Next Games found financial support from allies new and old. The Series A funding round was co-led by IDG Ventures and Jari Ovaskainen, an early Supercell investor and the original investor in Next Games. An assortment of outfits provided the remaining funding, including AMC Networks Ventures, LLC.

"Our funding was made possible by the pioneering work by established Scandinavian game development studios," Next Games CEO Teemu Huuhtanen said in a statement. "It is a testament to the talent in the Nordic region where many of the most successful games in recent years have been created. The majority of our private investment is rooted in the United States and Asia, the world's leading mobile app markets. I'm confident this diversity will lead to compelling games with broad global appeal and unique opportunities for partnerships, such as the one we currently have with AMC."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now