Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

New studio Citadel launches today

New studio Citadel launches today

Tue 11 Mar 2014 12:57pm GMT / 8:57am EDT / 5:57am PDT
Development

Derek Brinkmann, Chris Ondrus and Tim Cotten developing RPG Shards

Developers Derek Brinkmann, Chris Ondrus and Tim Cotten today launched their new studio Citadel which will create multiplayer RPGs for PC.

"We left our soul-crushing, corporate jobs to make the games we'd actually play," said CEO Brinkmann.

"As we started our first project and experimented with concepts, we discovered ways we could share our passion for creating living worlds with gamers themselves. Ultimately the community will dictate what Shards becomes, because we're not just providing a game but also a platform for players to express their creativity."

Between them the three have worked on NASCAR, Madden, Ultima Online, Dark Age of Camelot and Warhammer Online. Brinkmann's last role was as lead software engineer at Mythic, and he left in May 2013. Until December 2012 Ondrus worked with Bioware, and Cotten's previous title was CTO of Agilla Pro.

The team's first game is Shards, an Ultima Online inspired RPG.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now