Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Ex-Disney devs launch Shark Punch

Ex-Disney devs launch Shark Punch

Mon 10 Mar 2014 8:50pm GMT / 4:50pm EDT / 1:50pm PDT
Development

Three-man team from Finnish browser dev Rocket Pack debuting with PC heist game The Masterplan

A trio of former Disney Interactive developers are striking out on their own, as upstart developer Shark Punch today announced both its formation and its first title, The Masterplan.

The self-funded Shark Punch team consists of designer Aarne Hunziker, CEO Jiri Kupiainen, and programmer Leo Lännenmäki. The three developers first met working at Finnish game engine developer Rocket Pack in 2010. The following year, Rocket Pack was acquired by Disney Interactive for a reported sum between $10 million and $20 million. While Hunziker and Lännenmäki remain in Helsinki, Finland, Kupiainen is now based out of San Francisco.

"Our focus is on creating games that offer deep, involving gameplay in a streamlined package," the developer's website notes. "We do not make 'mid-core' games."

Shark Punch's first project is The Masterplan, described as "a heist game set in the early '70s." Set for release on PCs later this year, it will be playable at next week's Game Developers Conference in the GDC Play booth.

2 Comments

Paolo Giunti
Narrative Designer

35 68 1.9
I will keep my eyes out for this one. The concept sounds like something i'll enjoy. ^^

Posted:5 months ago

#1

Steve Wetz
Reviewer/Assistant Editor

196 499 2.5
What's up with Scandinavians and making heist games? Amirite? #PAYDAY

Posted:5 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now