Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Subscription-free Guild Wars 2 coming to China

Subscription-free Guild Wars 2 coming to China

Fri 28 Feb 2014 10:04am GMT / 5:04am EST / 2:04am PST
Publishing

"Guild Wars 2 China will be synchronised with the worldwide version of the game"

ArenaNet has confirmed that Guild Wars 2 will arrive in China with a closed beta period on March 11. The move marks the first Asian release for the MMO.

"Chinese players will get the same premium MMO gaming experience that Guild Wars 2 players in North America and Europe enjoy, with consistent and timely content updates," said president Mike O'Brien.

"Guild Wars 2 China will be synchronised with the worldwide version of the game."

Published in the region with the KongZhong Corporation, the game will offer the same subscription free model enjoyed by American and British territories and feature an adjusted and localised tutorial for new players. New content drops will be synchronised with Western versions of the game

"Given the game's high quality and beautiful design, compared with free-to-play and time-based pay-to-play games, this business model, where players purchase the game once and then play it for as long as they wish with no subscription fee, has the highest chance to appeal to the broadest base of players in China," added Guild Wars 2 China's operation general manager Atlantis Lai.

"As the most important and famous product in the 2014 China PC market, we believe Chinese players will also recognize Guild Wars 2 globally renowned quality."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now