Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Trip Hawkins's If You Can raises $6.5m

Trip Hawkins's If You Can raises $6.5m

Wed 26 Feb 2014 12:00pm GMT / 7:00am EST / 4:00am PST
EducationDevelopment

Series A round led by Greylock Partners, company opens California office

Trip Hawkins's educational gaming startup If You Can has raised $6.5 million in funding.

Hawkins founded If You Can with Ben Geliher, former lead producer on Moshi Monsters, in January 2013. It received $2.8 million in seed funding at that time, but now the VC firm Greylock Partners has led a series A round worth $6.5 million.

Along with the new investment, If You Can will add Greylock Partners' David Sze to the board of directors.

"We always look to invest in companies with a strong team and an innovative product that is solving a real problem; Trip Hawkins and the rest of the company have this in spades," said Sze in a statement. "We are proud to be a part of the If You Can journey as they pioneer a new learning model for apps and education."

If You Can has a UK-based team of 21 people, but the company has also opened a new office in Draper University in San Mateo, California.

If You Can's first product, "IF...", is a mobile game designed to teach children social and emotional learning (SEL) skills. It was released on the App Store today.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now