Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Job cuts at Turbine, Inc

Job cuts at Turbine, Inc

Thu 13 Feb 2014 9:05am GMT / 4:05am EST / 1:05am PST
DevelopmentJobs

Warner Bros confirms lay offs at Lord of the Rings Online studio

Turbine, Inc.

Turbine, Inc. is the premier creator and operator of massive, persistent online worlds that foster powerful...

turbine.com

Warner Bros. has confirmed that it is cutting an undisclosed number of jobs at Turbine Inc, the studio behind The Lord Of The Rings Online and the upcoming Infinite Crisis.

"As part of our normal business process, we're routinely looking at the strategic alignment of our company," Warner Bros told Polygon in a statement.

"Unfortunately, in order for us to invest in growth areas at Turbine, we have to eliminate some positions. These are always tough decisions, which we don't approach lightly, but it's crucial that Turbine is structured in a way that reflects the current and coming marketplace."

Warner Bros acquired the MMO studio in 2010, and said that Turbine was attractive for its "industry-leading technology, groundbreaking graphics and its unique ability to create and operate massive and persistent online worlds."

2 Comments

James Berg Games User Researcher, EA Canada

170 215 1.3
Sad to hear - I came back to LOTRO recently and it's still a lot of fun. Excellent example of a player-friendly business model as well.

Posted:8 months ago

#1
I loved Asherons call

Posted:8 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now