Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Satya Nadella likely Microsoft's next CEO - Report

Satya Nadella likely Microsoft's next CEO - Report

Thu 30 Jan 2014 7:10pm GMT / 2:10pm EST / 11:10am PST
Jobs

Software giant's Cloud and Enterprise head deemed frontrunner, appointment could happen next week

For five months now, Microsoft has been trying to carry out a major restructuring under a CEO whose days with the company are numbered. The lengthy search for Steve Ballmer's replacement as CEO could come to a close next week, according to Re/code, with Microsoft's current Cloud and Enterprise executive VP Satya Nadella winning the job.

The report cites numerous sources close to Microsoft with the time frame of the announcement, saying they believe Nadella is likely to win the job over other internal candidates former Skype CTO Tony Bates and Nokia's Stephen Elop. Nadella's lengthy history with the company and strong technical background are working in his favor, according to the sources, and he is seen as the least controversial choice to succeed Ballmer.

Regardless of who winds up as CEO, Re/code's sources within Microsoft suggest they are more than ready for a decision to come down.

"We aren't doing anything but waiting," one unnamed executive told the site. "No one knows what the new CEO will want, so no one knows what to do."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now