Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

1.5m Xbox Fitness workouts since launch

1.5m Xbox Fitness workouts since launch

Tue 28 Jan 2014 10:50am GMT / 5:50am EST / 2:50am PST
Publishing

Microsoft looking at bringing service to other devices

Microsoft has revealed that its exercise programme for the Xbox One, Xbox Fitness, has been used for almost 1.5 million workouts since the console launched in November.

"The key reason for getting Fitness out day one on the Xbox One launch was really to do something different in that space," Dave McCarthy, GM for Lifestyle Entertainment at Microsoft Studios, told Polygon.

"We learned a lot from our forays into this space and our competitors. Our strategy is to take entertainment you love and make it better. We thought we'd make a mark on day one, even with an early adopter audience. The early numbers bear that out."

McCarthy also spoke about the possibilities for the programme on other Microsoft devices, and confirmed they were looking at phones, tablets and PCs.

Microsoft signed up a number of high profile trainers to create programmes for the Kinect-powered service, including Jillian Michaels, Tracy Anderson, Tony Horton of P90X and Shaun T of Insanity. Over 43.3 million Fit Points were earned in Xbox Fitness within 24 hours of the Xbox One going on sale.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now