Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Namco Bandai to rebrand overseas subsidiaries

Namco Bandai to rebrand overseas subsidiaries

Mon 27 Jan 2014 10:44am GMT / 5:44am EST / 2:44am PST
PublishingDevelopment

Foreign divisions to follow Japanese "Bandai Namco" branding, starting in April

Bandai Namco Partners

The Bandai Namco Group conducts its business in a wide range of fields in entertainment markets around...

namcobandaipartners....

Namco Bandai is bringing its overseas subsidiaries into line with its Japanese business by changing its name.

While Europe and North American knows the company as "Namco Bandai," in Japan it trades under the name Bandai Namco. According to a document translated by Gematsu, the company intends to change that on April 1, aligning all 31 of its overseas subsidiaries with its Japanese name.

The official reason given for the change is the unification of the company's brand in order to increase its value and appeal on a global scale.

3 Comments

It does make sense since the company logo has read "Bandai Namco" for years. It doesn't roll off the tongue quite as easily though...

Posted:10 months ago

#1
"the company intends to change that on April 1"

xD

Posted:10 months ago

#2

Jim Webb Executive Editor/Community Director, E-mpire Ltd. Co.

2,287 2,507 1.1
Lucija, I love how most companies start their fiscal year on April 1st. It makes a lot of activity from them appear as an April Fools Day joke.

This will take a bit to get used to. Even for the Japanese home office, I've still most often referred to them as Namco Bandai rather than the reverse.

Posted:10 months ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now