Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

IGF Student Showcase winners announced

IGF Student Showcase winners announced

Thu 23 Jan 2014 8:32am GMT / 3:32am EST / 12:32am PST
EducationEvents

Ostrich Banditos and Unblanched Peanuts among the lucky few

The Independent Games Festival has chosen its Student Showcase winners for 2014, winning each team $1,000, passes to GDC and the chance to win a further $2,000 prize for Best Student Game.

The eight winners, picked from a massive 346 entries, are listed below along with a number of honourable mentions.

  • Museum of Simulation Technology (Albert Shih - Carnegie Mellon University, Entertainment Technology Center)
  • Engare (Mahdi Bahrami & Moslem Rasouli - NHTV University of Applied Science)
  • Risk of Rain (Hopoo Games - University of Washington)
  • Symmetrain (Philipp Beau & Daniel Goffin - University of Amsterdam / University Kassel)
  • Westerado (Ostrich Banditos - HKU)
  • Rhythm Doctor (Hafiz Azman & Winston Lee - University of Cambridge)
  • Foiled (Unblanched Peanuts - NYU)
  • Cyber Heist (Hack n' Hide - University of Utah)

Honourable mentions also went to: Ladylike (Nina Freeman, Emmett Butler, David Coss & Winnie Song - NYU, NYU Poly); UN EP (Ian Snyder - Kansas City Art Institute); Rabbit Rush (Caterpillar Lane - RMIT); Flying Fish (The Grey Room - The Academy of Interactive Entertainment); and Bokida (Rice Cooker Republic - Institut de Creation et d'Animation Numeriques).

The Best Student Game will be announced at the Independent Games Festival Awards on March 19.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now