Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft: Xbox hardware "will be important for a long time"

Microsoft: Xbox hardware "will be important for a long time"

Tue 14 Jan 2014 12:56am GMT / 7:56pm EST / 4:56pm PST
Hardware

Phil Spencer doesn't see a dedicated processing box for your gaming going away anytime soon

Even with the rise in the cloud processing, Microsoft is not counting out the idea of an Xbox Two. Microsoft Studios boss Phil Spencer recently tweeted that he believes the idea of another Xbox console isn't that far-fetched.

"I think local compute will be important for a long time," said Spencer when asked if the Xbox One is the last Microsoft console as we currently define them.

"You can look at mobile, connected to faster networks, more cloud services, but local power still increases each gen," added Spencer. "Bandwidth caps clearly an issue, still believe [hardware and software engineers] working together will find local [hardware] scenarios critical."

We don't currently know how long this console cycle will be, but publishers are hoping for shorter cycles, not longer ones.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now