Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

HMV Oxford Street store to close

HMV Oxford Street store to close

Mon 13 Jan 2014 3:25pm GMT / 10:25am EST / 7:25am PST
Retail

Relocating to smaller premises, says Hilco

After almost 30 years of trading the HMV store located at 150 Oxford Street will close. Over the year's the flagship store has been home to a number of high profile midnight launches including Diablo III.

The Telegraph reports that the chain's owner, Hilco, will open a new smaller branch down the road at 363 Oxford Street, while number 150 will become home to Sports Direct.

GamesIndustry International had contacted Hilco for a comment on the closure, but has yet to receive a reply.

While the 60,000 sq ft outlet has seen its fair share of game launches, recently high profile events like the Call Of Duty launches have taken place at Game in Stratford Westfield.

The entertainment retail chain went into administration in January last year, but was saved by a deal with Hilco reported to be worth 50 million.

4 Comments

Graeme Quantrill
Mobile App Developer

42 8 0.2
This has been the case since December. If you go into the store, they're reducing prices on most stock with huge signs stating "Relocating store"

Posted:6 months ago

#1

Jed Ashforth
Senior Game Designer, Immersive Technology Group

102 155 1.5
The news here that the Telegraph piece is actually reporting on is that it's closing this weekend. The store closure has been communicated on in-store signage for a good while now, as Graeme says.

Posted:6 months ago

#2

Chris Lewin
Software Engineer

20 67 3.4
Over the year's what? I am on tenterhooks!

Posted:6 months ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now