Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

China hints at new console guidelines

China hints at new console guidelines

Mon 13 Jan 2014 9:22am GMT / 4:22am EST / 1:22am PST
HardwarePublishingDevelopment

"Things that are hostile to China, or not in conformity with the outlook of China's government, won't be allowed"

China's Ministry of Culture is crafting guidelines to ensure that all console games sold in the country conform to its government's standards and outlook.

China lifted its 14-year ban on the sale of foreign consoles last week, but beyond a requirement that all consoles are built in the Shanghai free trade zone no further information on the new system was offered.

However, in a press conference in Beijing last week - attended by Bloomberg - the head of China's Ministry of Culture, Cai Wu, promised that the guidelines for console manufacturers and game developers would be drafted and released in the near future.

"Things that are hostile to China, or not in conformity with the outlook of China's government, won't be allowed," Cai said, in reference to the content of admissible games.

"We want to open the window a crack to get some fresh air, but we still need a screen to block the flies and mosquitoes."

1 Comment

Alfonso Sexto
Lead Tester

788 599 0.8
"Things that are hostile to China, or not in conformity with the outlook of China's government, won't be allowed"
Which could easily mean "We will ban/forbid/censor whatever we feel like for no particular reason other than that very same excuse"

Posted:7 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now