Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

2K closing Prague office

2K closing Prague office

Fri 10 Jan 2014 11:29am GMT / 6:29am EST / 3:29am PST
Development

"We have relocated and consolidated our 2K Czech team from our Prague facility to centralise resources in our location in Brno"

2K has confirmed that it is closing its Prague office and relocating its 2K Czech team as part of a restructuring process.

"We have relocated and consolidated our 2K Czech team from our Prague facility to centralise resources in our location in Brno. Additionally, we are transferring some development resources from Prague and Brno to 2K headquarters in Novato, CA," 2K told Eurogamer.

"This transition will both strengthen the integration of the 2K Czech team with our award winning development teams, and better align cross-functional business practices. As part of this realignment, we are adjusting our staffing levels, resulting in the elimination of some positions."

Reports suggest that the process has involved job cuts the the Prague operation will close in the next few months. Ten 2K Czech staff have made the move to Novato.

2K Czech's Prague studio had been rumoured to be working on Mafia 3.

1 Comment

Roman Margold
Rendering Software Engineer

24 34 1.4
Given how (comparatively) unusual it is for people to move for work in Czechia, I assume a lot of people couldn't make it. Good luck to all of those, hopefully there is enough work in Prague now.

Posted:7 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now