Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Xbox One streaming still a ways off

Xbox One streaming still a ways off

Thu 09 Jan 2014 8:50pm GMT / 3:50pm EST / 12:50pm PST
HardwareSocial

Twitch expects introduction of new functionality will be a matter of months, no ETA from Microsoft

Xbox One users eager to show off their skills online will have to wait a while longer. The Twitter feed for livestreaming service Twitch warned users yesterday that it still doesn't know when that functionality will go live.

"There is no ETA at this time from Microsoft," Twitch said. "Expect a few more months. If we know sooner, we'll update."

Microsoft announced live-streaming gameplay through Twitch as a built-in Xbox One function at E3 2013, but just days before the console's debut, Microsoft said it wouldn't be ready for launch. The delay was necessary to ensure the feature "meets the expectations of the Twitch community," Microsoft said at the time.

While direct broadcasting of gameplay isn't an option at the moment, there is a workaround of sorts. Xbox One owners should still be able to share their video using the Xbox One Game DVR and Upload Studio to upload videos to Microsoft's cloud-based SkyDrive service. From there, gamers can download the clips and re-upload them on the service of their choice.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now