Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Starbound tops 1 million sold

Starbound tops 1 million sold

Mon 06 Jan 2014 9:04pm GMT / 4:04pm EST / 1:04pm PST
Development

Alpha funding for Chucklefish's procedural sci-fi action-adventure hits milestone a month after playable beta debuts

Word of another alpha funding success story has emerged today, as UK-based indie developer Chucklefish today announced via Twitter that its upcoming procedurally generated adventure Starbound has already pre-sold 1 million copies.

Starbound preorders are currently available on Steam and through the developer's official site for $15 each. Players have only been able to try the still-in-development title since December 4, when preordering customers were given access to the game's beta test.

Starbound is not the only alpha funded title to make a splash in the last month. The still-in-development DayZ raised $5.1 million in its first day of availability on Steam Early Access, and has gone on to sell nearly 800,000 copies in the three weeks since launch.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now