Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Clint Hocking departs Valve

Clint Hocking departs Valve

Mon 06 Jan 2014 8:50am GMT / 3:50am EST / 12:50am PST
Jobs

Far Cry 2 creative director no longer working at Seattle company

It seems Clint Hocking has departed Valve after just 18 months with the company, where he worked as a designer and level designer.

Game Informer spotted the changes to Hocking's personal blog and LinkedIn listing, which indicates he left Valve last month.

GamesIndustry International has contacted Hocking to find out what he might be up to next.

Hocking made his name in the industry during his nine years with Ubisoft Montreal as creative director on Splinter Cell, Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory and Far Cry 2. In May 2010 he announced he had handed in his resignation, and explained he had become too comfortable at the Canadian development studio.

"The way forward lies in my having the courage that I did not know I had a decade ago to bid farewell to those tragically comforting habits. I need to walk on hot coals and sleep on a bed of nails. I need to chew on broken glass. I need to drink paint."

In July 2010 he moved to LucasArts and spent two years working on unannounced projects.

He's also on the on the Advisory Board of the Montreal IGDA Chapter.

1 Comment

Tim Carter Designer - Writer - Producer

574 317 0.6
There can only be one "name" at Valve.

Edited 2 times. Last edit by Tim Carter on 6th January 2014 8:54pm

Posted:9 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now