Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Japanese publisher CyberFront dissolved

Japanese publisher CyberFront dissolved

Fri 20 Dec 2013 8:54am GMT / 3:54am EST / 12:54am PST
Publishing

Follows management changes and buyout at Skullgirls publisher

CyberFront, the Japanese publisher that brought titles like Portal, Walking Dead and GTA: Chinatown Wars to Japan has dissolved, following a board meeting yesterday.

The company released a statement, translated by Gamasutra, that explained the company had been unable to sufficiently rebuild after recent management changes and a buyout by Kaga Electronics.

It's unclear how the dissolution will affect Tokyo Shin Seiki: Operation Abyss, which was due to be released by CyberFront in January. Hajime Chikami, president of developer Experience, has already publicly expressed concerns over the game's future as a result of the news.

CyberFront started in 1998, and the Kaga buyout occurred in 2010 and saw the electronics company take a 51 per cent share in the business. Sadly, it was unable to make the changes needed to save the company.

1 Comment

Shehzaan Abdulla
Translator

98 206 2.1
Cyberfront was a big deal in the visual novel world, having published all of the Infinity series for the PSP amongst many of the other recognised greats of the genre </end eulogy>.

Shame to see them go as many people are not happy with the way 5pb (arguably their closest rival) handled the same IPs.

Posted:8 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now