Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Valve releases SteamOS

By Rachel Weber

Valve releases SteamOS

Mon 16 Dec 2013 9:23am GMT / 4:23am EST / 1:23am PST

"SteamOS is available for intrepid Linux hackers to try out"

This weekend Valve released its SteamOS but has warned the inexperienced away from the OS until the programme is in a more stable state. It also sent out prototype Steam Machines and Steam Controllers to beta testers.

"SteamOS is available for intrepid Linux hackers to try out. At this point the OS itself is not yet a finished product for a non-technical user," it said.

"Thanks in advance to the three hundred Steam users who are going to spend their time helping us shape the future of Steam in the living room."

Valve has set up an FAQ to help guide them through the set up of the Debian GNU/Linux system, while on YouTube unboxing videos of the new Steam Machines have already started appearing.

From Recommendations by Taboola


Morville O'Driscoll Blogger & Critic

1,885 2,058 1.1
As an aside, the FAQ states that AMD and Intel Support is coming soon. AMD support is already there, as per this article: . And Intel HD Graphics can be made to work:

Posted:A year ago


Brook Davidson Artist / 3D design

328 747 2.3
Thanks for that information, it's good to know. Maybe I will give it a shot to test it out.


Posted:A year ago


Jeff Wayne Technical Architect

86 37 0.4
Very interested to see how development of this OS progresses. Personally hope it's a great success.

Posted:A year ago


Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now