Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Xbox One, PS4 drive DLC sales up 41% in November

Xbox One, PS4 drive DLC sales up 41% in November

Thu 12 Dec 2013 7:25pm GMT / 2:25pm EST / 11:25am PST
BusinessRetailOnline

Digital game sales grew 25% overall, according to SuperData Research

The NPD Group will release its monthly report for the US games business this afternoon, but that won't reflect the digital sales picture. According to SuperData Research, as reported by our sister site the [a]list daily, the digital games market grew 25 percent year-over-year to more than $1 billion.

The digital focus of the newly introduced Xbox One and PlayStation 4 consoles likely pushed a portion of the consumer base in the direction of digital purchases, the firm noted. "Several big franchises released on the same day as the next gen consoles. In particular Call of Duty: Ghosts, which generally launches two months later, was now immediately available via digital download on Xbox Marketplace and PSN. Similarly, Need for Speed Rivals and the late-October release of Assassin's Creed: Black Flag and Battlefield 4 drove overall sales. We expect this trend to continue for the remainder of the year," the company said.

DLC sales in particular spiked 41 percent on PC and consoles combined, growing to $325 million for the month.

The other digital segments, such as mobile and social, grew by just a few percentage points while the free-to-play MMO category dropped by 17 percent for the month. For more, check out the report on the [a]list daily.

1 Comment

Andrew Goodchild Studying development, Train2Game

1,254 419 0.3

Posted:10 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now