Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

The Settlers creator honoured in Germany

The Settlers creator honoured in Germany

Thu 12 Dec 2013 8:51am GMT / 3:51am EST / 12:51am PST
EventsPeople

"I'm glad that I could do my part to aid the rise of German game development"

Volker Wertich, the man behind The Settlers and SpellForce and one of the the founders of the new Envision Entertainment, has been awarded with the "Special Award of the Jury" at the German Game Developer's Awards.

"Regardless of which criteria you apply, be it sold games, revenue or awards, Volker Wertich is one of the most successful game designers in Germany, possibly the most successful," said Ubisoft's Teut Weidemann.

Wertich spent nearly seven and a half years with Electronic Arts as creative director, but more recently founded Envision Entertainment with Dirk Ringe, Marco Löhlein and Mark Novolozhilov. The studio is based in Ingelheim, Germany and is mainly staffed by former EA Phenomic employees.

"I am very honoured. I'm glad that I could do my part to aid the rise of German game development during the last ten years," said Wertich of the award.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now